Give us a missed call on

+91 626 955 5606

Table of Contents

PM Gati Shakti Yojana is a National Master Plan for multi-modal connectivity in the country. Gati Shakti, a digital platform, aims at bringing 16 ministries including the Ministry of Railways, Ministry of Roadways, etc., together for integrated planning and coordinated implementation of infrastructure connectivity projects. Here is how the Government of India plans to take this forward.


This article throws light on the objectives of PM Gati Shakti Yojana, its pillars and implementation.

What is PM Gati Shakti?

Pradhan Mantri Gati Shakti National Master Plan was launched on 15 August 2021. It is a wholistic infrastructure development programme that aims at improving logistics by developing connectivity between railways, roadways, waterways and airways. This project is said to be worth ₹100 trillion.

The main objective of the Gati Shakti programme is to understand missing gaps and improve the movement of goods & services and people.

PM Gati Shakti: Key objectives

Here are some of the key objectives of PM Gati Shakti Yojana.

  • To develop logistics and infrastructure in the country.
  • To reduce heavy dependence on road transportation.
  • To improve supply chains
  • To reduce logistics and supply chain costs
  • Improve coordination between different ministries, states and concerned departments. For example, improving coordination between the Ministry of Railways, the Ministry of Roadways, etc., for development of infrastructure projects
  • Eliminate interministerial delays and bridge the communication gap between them.

In simple terms, PM Gati Shakti aims at achieving its key objectives by eliminating missing gaps that mainly happen due to lack of communication between ministries and departments. The programme avoids planning and designing stages separately done in silos. Instead, the projects will be designed and executed with a common vision.

It will incorporate all infrastructure schemes such as:

  • Bharatmala
  • Sagarmala
  • Inland waterways
  • Dry/land ports
  • UDAN
  • Logistics park
  • Economic Zones like textile clusters, pharmaceutical clusters, defence corridors, electronic parks, industrial corridors, fishing clusters, agri zones, etc.

PM Gati Shakti: Pillars

Here are the six pillars of the PM Gati Shakti Master Plan.


The plan is to integrate existing and planned initiatives from multiple ministries under the single portal of PM Gati Shakti. This will help ministries and departments to enable the exchange of critical data when planning and executing projects.


With enabled communication, ministries and departments of the government can have the flexibility in prioritising projects effectively.


PM Gati Shakti Master Plan will help ministries understand the critical gap and have an optimised solution to it. The key is to find the most effective way for seamless logistics with minimising time and cost.


The PM Gati Shakti Plan aims at having synchronised development. This enables avoiding delays caused by interministerial communication gaps.


PM Gati Shakti Master Plan aims at consolidating all data using GIS-based spatial planning and analytical tools having more than 200 levels. This offers more insights and thereby transparency to the executing agency. It further translates into faster and better execution.


Implementation of the GIS platform allows all involved ministries and departments to track and evaluate the progress of the project. Moreover, onsite images of the project offer regular status updates. This help to evaluate and intervene in the plan at the right time if required.

How will PM Gati Shakti be implemented?

PM Gati Shakti will be implemented, designed and monitored with the help of a 3-tier system that consists of the following:


Empowered Group of Secretaries

The Empowered Group of Secretaries (EGoS) is formed under the chairmanship of the Cabinet Secretary. This group monitors the Gati Shakti Master Plan and approves any required changes. Additionally, the group ensures a timely supply of bulk goods such as steel, coal, etc., required for the projects.

Network Planning Group

Network Planning Group (NPG) is responsible for interaction between all the stakeholders including ministries and departments. Also, its NPG’s responsibility to plan economic zones and ensure connectivity infrastructure right at the planning stage. The group needs to analyse present and future needs and approve the project accordingly. This will ensure minimised disruption at the execution level while creating efficient infrastructure. In a nutshell, the role of NPG includes the following:

  • Enhancing optimisation through modification/expansion/creation of a new network
  • Ensuring holistic development and avoiding work duplication
  • Creating a micro-plan that reduces logistics cost

Technical Support Unit

Technical Support Unit (TSU) has representation from ministries as well as domain experts having more than 15-20 years of experience.

Frequently askes questions

What is the purpose of PM Gati Shakti Yojana?

PM Gati Shakti programme is designed for creating world-class infrastructure in the country that reduces the cost of logistics and enables efficient movement of goods and services. Overall, it aims at improving competitiveness and economic growth.

Is PM Gati Shakti a new programme?

No. PM Gati Shakti is not a new programme. Instead, it integrates all existing government schemes and programmes. It breaks the silo approach of working and adapts collaborative approach to achieving wholistic infrastructure development.

Which ministries are part of the PM Gati Shakti programme?

Here is a list of ministries that are a part of the PM Gati Shakti scheme.
  • Ministry of Railways
  • Ministry of Road, Transport & Highways
  • Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways
  • Ministry of Civil Aviation
  • Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas
  • Ministry of Power
  • Department of Telecommunications
  • Ministry of Coal
  • Ministry of Mines
  • Department of Chemicals & Petro-Chemicals
  • Department of Fertilizers
  • Ministry of Steel
  • Department of Expenditure
  • Department for Food and PDS
  • Ministry of Agriculture and Farmer Welfare
  • Ministry of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry & Dairying
  • Ministry of Tourism
  • Ministry of Commerce and Industry
  • NITI Aayog
  • Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs
  • Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology

Swati Deshpande

Swati is a passionate content writer with more than 10 years of experience crafting content for the business and manufacturing sectors, and helping MSMEs (Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises) navigate complexities in steel procurement, and business services. Her clear and informative writing empowers MSMEs to make informed decisions and thrive in the competitive landscape.